Uncategorized

See the Full List of Sitting Senators Who Are Up for Re-election in 2022 (Yes, We’re Moving Directly to This, Now, Today)

See the full list of sitting senators who are up for re-election in 2022.

Yes, we’re moving directly to this, now, today.

The 2020 version of this post was easily the most popular we’ve ever done on One Thing You Can Do. By far. No question.

It seems smart to post its sequel right away and update it as more information snaps into place.

Controlling the presidency is one thing. In our era, if Democrats want to get anything meaningful done, they need to control pretty much every branch of the federal government.

That includes controlling the Senate.

If the GOP loses its Senate majority in the November 2020 election (an outcome to be divinely wished), the party will revert to what it does best: hobbling and undermining any efforts by Democrats to govern effectively.

Republican leaders, operatives, and donors will focus on wresting Senate control from the Democrats in two years.

It will become their main cause, and their obsession. Hell, it might become their only cause.

All the more reason, then, to start fighting back well before Thanksgiving 2020, yes?

The Senators who are up for re-election in 2022 belong to what’s known as Class III. See a link to the list of Class III Senators:

https://www.senate.gov/senators/Class_III.htm

Class III reflects good news for Democrats: Far more GOP Senators are playing defense in 2022.

Obviously, it’s too early to identify which Senators are most vulnerable to defeat, and it’s too early for serious challengers to step forward and run against incumbents. But we can list who’s due to run again.

This list will take on early importance if Joe Biden wins the presidency.

Should that happen, California Senator Kamala Harris will leave her seat, and other Democratically-held Senate seats may open as Biden chooses his cabinet and builds his administration.

This post will also list the states that don’t have any scheduled Senate contests in 2022. Those who live in those states can safely devote their efforts elsewhere.

Here are the Democratic Senate incumbents who are up for re-election in 2022, plus their ActBlue links, if available, so you can donate to their campaigns:

Michael Bennet of Colorado (https://secure.actblue.com/donate/michael-bennet-1)

Richard Blumenthal of Connecticut (https://secure.actblue.com/donate/richard-blumenthal-4)

Catherine Cortez Masto, of Nevada (https://secure.actblue.com/donate/catherine-cortez-masto-1)

Tammy Duckworth of Illinois (https://secure.actblue.com/donate/tammy-duckworth-3)

Kamala Harris of California (as of October 2020, she is not accepting Senate race contributions, for obvious reasons)

Margaret Wood Hassan of New Hampshire

Patrick Leahy of Vermont (https://secure.actblue.com/donate/patrick-leahy-1)

Patty Murray of Washington (https://secure.actblue.com/donate/patty-murray-2)

Brian Schatz of Hawaii (https://secure.actblue.com/donate/brian-schatz-3)

Charles “Chuck” Schumer of New York (https://secure.actblue.com/donate/chuck-schumer)

Chris Van Hollen of Maryland (https://secure.actblue.com/donate/chris-van-hollen-1)

Ron Wyden of Oregon (https://secure.actblue.com/donate/ronwyden-default)

These GOP Senate incumbents face re-election races in 2022:

Roy Blunt of Missouri

John Boozman of Arkansas

Richard Burr of North Carolina

Mike Crapo of Idaho

Chuck Grassley of Iowa

John Hoeven of North Dakota

Ron Johnson of Wisconsin

John Kennedy of Louisiana

James Lankford of Oklahoma

Mike Lee of Utah

The Georgia seat occupied by Kelly Loeffler as of late 2020

The Arizona seat occupied by Martha McSally as of late 2020

Jerry Moran of Kansas

Lisa Murkowski of Alaska

Rand Paul of Kentucky

Rob Portman of Ohio

Marco Rubio of Florida

Tim Scott of South Carolina

Richard Shelby of Alabama

John Thune of South Dakota

The Pennsylvania seat occupied by Pat Toomey, who announced late in 2020 that he would not run for re-election

Todd Young of Indiana

Lastly, here’s a list of states whose Senators are NOT up for re-election in 2022. Their residents can devote their efforts elsewhere in this cycle.

Delaware

Maine

Massachusetts

Montana

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Nebraska

New Jersey

New Mexico

Ohio

Rhode Island

Tennessee

Texas

Virginia

West Virginia

Wyoming

Subscribe to One Thing You Can Do by clicking the blue button on the upper right or checking the About & Subscribe page. And tell your friends about the blog!