See a List of Members of Congress Who Said They Would Vote to Overturn the 2020 Results, But Changed Their Minds After the January 6 Insurrection

See a list of Members of Congress (MoCs) who said they would vote to overturn the 2020 election results, but changed their minds after the events of the January 6 Insurrection.

What changed their minds?

Yep, it was seeing their workplace invaded by Trump true believers who ran amok and came close to killing some of their colleagues.

We at OTYCD weren’t sure whether to bother with writing this story. Chronicling the 147–all Republicans–who went ahead and voted to overturn the 2020 election results was a no-brainer. This was less clear-cut.

We thought it over and realized if one of our MoCs was among those who said they’d vote to overturn the 2020 election results and backed off, but only after living through what we now call the January 6 Insurrection, we’d want to know.

So. This list is not nearly as long as the list of those who voted to overturn the 2020 election. But there are enough names to draft a proper list.

If we missed a name, please email us at

onethingyoucando @ gmail.com

…and let us know who we should add, with backing information to prove they belong.

Members of the House of Representatives who said they would vote to overturn the 2020 election results, but ultimately did not do so:

Republican Michael Waltz, Florida’s 6th District.

This is according to a Daytona Beach News-Journal article titled Congressman Michael Waltz Reverses Course, Doesn’t Object to Biden Victory:


Republican Cathy McMorris Rodgers, Washington state’s 5th District.

This is according to an updated KREM article titled In Reversal, Cathy McMorris Rodgers Says She Will ‘Vote to Uphold Electoral College Results’:


Senators who said they would vote to overturn the 2020 election results, but later backed off:

Marsha Blackburn of Tennessee.

A Washington Post piece titled How Members of Congress Voted on Counting the Electoral College Vote noted her reversal.


Mike Braun of Indiana.

The same Washington Post story cited above said that he changed his stance.

Steve Daines of Montana.

As with the Senators named above, his shift was noted in the Washington Post story.

Bill Hagerty of Tennessee.

This and all subsequent Senators named on this list come from the Washington Post story.

Ron Johnson of Wisconsin.

James Lankford of Oklahoma.

Kelly Loeffler of Georgia. (Yes, the vote to overturn the 2020 election results took place the day after she was defeated by Rev. Raphael Warnock in her Senate runoff race.)

Special thanks to Twitter follower @MrPatrickKane for help with researching this story.

Subscribe to One Thing You Can Do by clicking the blue button on the upper right or checking the About & Subscribe page. And tell your friends about the blog!