Support Merrick Garland’s Nomination By Calling Your Senators Today, Especially If They’re on the Chamber’s Judicial Committee

Please call your Senators and voice your support for the nomination of Merrick Garland as United States Attorney General, which should be voted out of the chamber’s Judicial Committee today.

We at OTYCD asked you to make a pro-Garland call last week. We’re asking you to call again because the Senate Judiciary Committee is expected to vote today (Monday March 1, 2021) to move his nomination to the floor for a full Senate vote that will take place sometime this week. There’s no date given yet for the Garland floor vote, but we’d ask you to call your Senators then, too.

Cites for the March 1, 2021 floor vote date at the tail of this story:


You’re only calling your two Senators for this one, as weighing high-ranking nominations within a president’s administration falls to that chamber.

Before placing your call, please check the social media feeds and press release sections of your Senators’ websites to see what they’ve said, or failed to say, about Garland and his AG nomination.

Find your Senators’ contact information, and help others find their Senators’ information, here:


If one or both of your Senators belong to the chamber’s Judicial Committee, it is extra-important that you call today.

The list of 2021 Senate Judicial Committee members is linked below, but we will also list them in full.


The Senate Judiciary Committee as of February 2021 is under Democratic Party control and consists of:

Chair Senator Dick Durbin of Illinois

Senator Patrick Leahy of Vermont

Senator Dianne Feinstein of California

Senator Sheldon Whitehouse of Rhode Island

Senator Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota

Senator Chris Coons of Delaware

Senator Richard Blumenthal of Connecticut

Senator Mazie Hirono of Hawaii

Senator Cory Booker of New Jersey

Senator Alex Padilla of California (Governor Gavin Newsom appointed him to finish Kamala Harris’s term)

Senator Jon Ossoff of Georgia

As of February 2021, the Republican minority members of the Senate Judiciary Committee are:

Ranking Member Senator Chuck Grassley of Iowa

Senator Lindsey Graham of South Carolina

Senator John Cornyn of Texas

Senator Mike Lee of Utah

Senator Ted Cruz of Texas

Senator Ben Sasse of Nebraska

Senator Josh Hawley of Missouri

Senator Tom Cotton of Arkansas

Senator John Kennedy of Louisiana

Senator Thom Tillis of North Carolina

Senator Marsha Blackburn of Tennessee

Sample calling script is below, but we wanted to point out–you are not obliged to use it. You certainly can use it word-for-word but if you don’t like some or all of it, please! Restyle it as you wish.

The script:

“Dear <Senator Lastname,> I am <Firstname Lastname> from <town, state, zip code>. I’m calling to ask you to support the nomination of Merrick Garland as United States Attorney General.

He has the experience and the competence to lead the Department of Justice through the many challenges it currently faces, including investigations of the January 6 Insurrection at the Capitol Building, rebuilding the civil rights division, and restoring confidence in the DOJ after four years of attempts, some successful, to politicize it under Trump.

<If one or both of your Senators are Democrats on the Judiciary Committee: I understand you are on the Senate Judiciary Committee, which votes on Garland’s nomination today. I trust that you will vote in favor of advancing it.>

<If one or both of your Senators are Republicans on the Judiciary Committee: I understand you are on the Senate Judiciary Committee, which votes on Garland’s nomination today. I hope that you will vote to advance it, and I am asking you to do so.>

Thank you for taking my call.”

Subscribe to One Thing You Can Do by clicking the blue button on the upper right or checking the About & Subscribe page. And tell your friends about the blog!